There’s nothing wrong with routine.

I’m definitely one of those people that thrive off of having a schedule. What can I say-I like to know what’s going to happen :).

When it comes to squeezing in workouts and eating something nutritious, there’s nothing wrong with having a little routine.

For instance, almost every morning I eat the same breakfast. Whaaaat? Don’t you get bored? Hold on, hear me out.

My first meal of the day is usually a bowl of oatmeal with a dash of cinnamon (sometimes with dried fruit or fresh blueberries sprinkled in), a hard boiled egg with salt and pepper, and a big ol’ cup of coffee. This meal is chock-full of water-soluble fiber, protein, and key vitamins and minerals, including hard-to-get ones, like choline and vitamin D, from the egg yolk. Oh, and caffeine, very important.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

See, my brain doesn’t work before I have my cup of coffee, I am truly a zombie. By having a set breakfast routine, I don’t even have to think about what I’m going to make myself and can put my mind on autopilot while I prep breakfast. Most importantly, breakfast sets the tone of the day and, with this breakfast, my body feels properly fueled to tackle what’s ahead.

Generally, I mix up the rest of my eats depending on what I’m craving, what foods I have on hand, and what new fun foods I want to try. But, having a relatively routine breakfast ensures I am getting good nutrition and don’t have to plan ahead for what I’m eating in the morning.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Do you have a routine? How about a breakfast routine? 😉

Are you more of a schedule person or spontaneous person?

2 thoughts on “There’s nothing wrong with routine.

  1. My breakfast is routine as well. I have organic greek yogurt with a scoop of whey protein, 1/2 cup organic cottage cheese, chia seeds and 25gr. of Kashi. I pour a little espresso coffee in and mix it up. Great HEALTHY high protein breakfast with crunch and flavor.

    Like

    1. That sounds delicious! Glad to connect with another routine breakfaster :). That’s a great idea to pour espresso into your yogurt, I’m a big fan of coffee-flavored yogurt, but usually only have plain/vanilla yogurt on hand. I’ll have to try mixing in coffee sometime, thanks for the idea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

