I think I can, I think I can

Wow, I was immensely floored and surprised by the amount of support from my last post, thank you all so much!

*  *  *

On Friday, I finally picked up my running shoes again. It’s funny how hard it is to get myself out the door to run, even though I absolutely LOVE running. As soon as I pick up the speed I’m reminded by how freeing it is to feel the wind in my face and how refreshing it is to move. I ran a sweaty 5 miles on Friday and did a 5k on Sunday and caught the running bug again.

FullSizeRender (4)
New shoes that aren’t stinky yet!!!

I do some of my best thinking when I’m out on my feet. To run, I just need to keep one foot in front of the other and not worry about when I reach my destination. If I keep my feet moving, I will eventually arrive. Sometimes, I get ahead of myself and worry about when I’m reaching the end. That’s when my run no longer becomes enjoyable, but becomes stressful and rushed. I run my best when I truly relish the moment and appreciate the pounding of each foot against the ground.

Life is sort of like running. When I spend too much time thinking about the end goal, I become anxious and stressed. Instead, focusing on the journey along the way helps me stay in the moment and perform my best.

One of my bucket list goals is to run a marathon, but the thought of running 26.2 miles scares the living daylights out of me. I’m contemplating signing up for a marathon a couple friends are doing at the end of May. I have to start properly training now, but I have until the end of the month to officially sign up. My plan is to let me feet take me along the way and see where I end up on my running journey.

10404344_2332016103774_4358351529732545824_n

I think I can, I think I can.

Leave a Reply

